IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF THE BOARD OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION TO CHANGE THE STATUS OF CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE STATE BAR OF NEVADA FROM ACTIVE TO INACTIVE UNDER SUPREME COURT RULES 205-215 INCLUSIVE, AND, AS TO CERTAIN INACTIVE, SUSPENDED, DISABLED AND DISBARRED MEMBERS, TO CONDITION THEIR RIGHTS OF REINSTATEMENT.



ORDER GRANTING PETITION

On August 31, 2007, the Board of Continuing Legal Education (the Board) filed a petition with this court regarding the status of certain members of the State Bar of Nevada (respondent attorneys) who have failed to comply with various Supreme Court Rules governing continuing legal education. <u>See SCR 205-215</u>. Specifically, the Board petitioned this court to order those respondent attorneys who are presently active to show cause why their membership status should not be changed to inactive and, from the date of such change of status, be barred from practicing law in the State of Nevada until reinstated under SCR 213. Further, as to those respondent attorneys who are already inactive, disabled or suspended, to show cause why their rights of reinstatement to active status should not be conditioned upon full compliance with SCR 213, in addition to any conditions of reinstatement already imposed upon them.

After further review of the Board's petition, it was determined that the Board had sought incorrect relief. Specifically, on December 29, 2006, this court entered an order amending Supreme Court Rules 212 and

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA 213, effective March 1, 2007. <u>See</u> ADKT 392, Order Amending Nevada Supreme Court Rules 98-123, Amending Rules 212-213 and Adopting Rule 102.5. As amended, SCR 212(5) now provides that if a bar member fails to comply with applicable CLE rules, "the board may...move [this] court to suspend the member for noncompliance." (Emphasis added). Further, any member suspended for noncompliance, must comply with SCR 115. Thus, the Board's petition was treated as one requesting this court to order those respondent attorneys who are presently active to show cause why their membership status should not be changed to suspended and, from the date of such change of status, be barred from practicing law in the State of Nevada until reinstated under SCR 213.

On November 2, 2007, this court entered an amended order directing the following active attorneys to show cause why this court should not grant the Board's petition to change their status from active to *suspended* and to condition their right to be reinstated upon full compliance with SCR 213: Carl E. Anderson, Rita F. Brookins, Phyllis J. Bryan, Jeffrey D. Conway, Marcus D. Cooper, Frederick J. Dias, Paul G. Eskey, Gerard A. Fierro, John J. Figone, Shannon L. Floyd, Todd B. Gary, Joseph S. Gilbert, Kenneth E. Goates, Andrew Goodman, Karen T. Grant-Head, Karen R. Griffith, Aaron Hancock, Kent B. Hanson, Stephen J. Kane, Eric J. Lund, Erin Melody-Rosenfeld, Anthony D. Mongan, Roberta Monokroussos, Milton G. Mullanax, Craig H. Norville, Eugenia P. Ohrenschall, Matthew T. Polito, Robert B. Pool, Laura J. Portil o, David C. Sampson, Philip Singer, Jeffrey N. Starkey, Charlane B. Stead, Joseph X. Tangredi, Paul J. Vames, and Cecil A. Wariner.

That amended order also directed the following inactive, suspended, disabled or disbarred attorneys to show cause why this court

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA should not grant the Board's petition and condition their right to be reinstated to active status upon full compliance with SCR 213 in addition to any conditions of reinstatement already imposed or which may hereafter be imposed: Laurie B. Buck, Jonathan D. Carter, Carolann Cervetti (Bullock), Douglas C. Crawford, Brian D. Hill, Gregory L. Jensen, Robert B. Kronenberg, Nhu-Hanh T. Le, Bryan T. McAfee, Thomas C. Michaelides, Patrick J. Mullen, Susan L. Quig-Terry, Terri S. Roeser, David W. Simpson, Thomas R. Slezak, Jr., Steven L. Sorenson, and Darren L. Walker.

On November 14, 2007, November 19, 2007, and November 28, 2007, the Board filed documents entitled "Consent to Dismissal," informing this court that the following attorneys have satisfied the requirements set forth in SCR 205 through 215: Carolann Cervetti, Jeffrey D. Conway, Marcus D. Cooper, Gerard A. Fierro, Shannon L. Floyd, Todd B. Gary, Joseph S. Gilbert, Kenneth E. Goates, Eugenia Ohrenschall, Matthew T. Polito, and Cecil A. Wariner. Accordingly, we conclude that these respondent attorneys have completed the requirements for reinstatement under SCR 213, and we dismiss the Board's petition with prejudice as to each of them.

The remaining active attorneys have failed to respond to our amended show cause order entered November 2, 2007. Accordingly, we grant the Board's petition as to these attorneys. The status of the following active respondent attorneys shall be changed to *suspended*, and their rights of reinstatement shall be conditioned upon full compliance with SCR 213:

> Carl E. Anderson Rita F. Brookins Phyllis J. Bryan

OF NEVADA Frederick J. Dias Paul G. Eskey John J. Figone Andrew Goodman Karen T. Grant-Head Karen R. Griffith Aaron Hancock Kent B. Hanson Stephen J. Kane Eric J. Lund Erin Melody-Rosenfeld Anthony D. Mongan Roberta Monokroussos Milton G. Mullanax Craig H. Norville Robert B. Pool Laura J. Portillo David C. Sampson Philip Singer Jeffrey N. Starkey Charlane B. Stead Joseph X. Tangredi Paul J. Vames

Further, the following inactive, suspended, disabled or disbarred attorneys have failed to respond to our amended show cause order entered November 2, 2007. Accordingly, we grant the Board's petition as to the following inactive, suspended, disabled, or disbarred attorneys. Their right to be reinstated to the active practice of law shall be conditioned upon full compliance with SCR 213, in addition to any conditions of reinstatement already imposed upon them:

> Laurie B. Buck Jonathan D. Carter Douglas C. Crawford Brian D. Hill Gregory L. Jensen Robert B. Kronenberg Nhu-Hanh T. Le

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA

4

Bryan T. McAfee Thomas C. Michaelides Patrick J. Mullen Susan L. Quig-Terry Terri S. Roeser David W. Simpson Thomas R. Slezak, Jr. Steven L. Sorenson Darren L. Walker It is so ORDERED. Mausi C.J. Maupin J. J. Gibbons Hardesty (J. J. Parraguirre Douglas J. J. Sherry Saitta Chris Boadt, Director of Operations & Education, cc: State Bar of Nevada/Las Vegas Toni Sarocka, Executive Director Board of Continuing Legal Education Daniel F. Polsenberg, Chair, Board of **Continuing Legal Education** Kimberly K. Farmer, Executive Director State Bar of Nevada/Las Vegas Rob Bare, Bar Counsel, State Bar of Nevada/Las Vegas Mary Jorgensen, Member Services Coordinator, State Bar of Nevada/Las Vegas All respondent attorneys

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA